San Juan de Dios Square
The existence of this unequalled spot in the city of Camagüey dates back to the XVIII century (1728), according to documents from the ancient villa of Santa María of Puerto del Príncipe. The name of the architectural ensemble comes from the order of the Brothers of Saint John of God (Hermanos de San Juan de Dios).
The majestic colonial architecture has been preserved in the legendary city and is still a part of the stoned plaza, next to the old hospital, a church and some houses, two of which have been turned into restaurants. The place can be reached through the well-known Worker’s Plaza (Plaza de los Trabajadores) after winding through a tangle of streets. Once there, the visitors are awed by the unique beauty of sculptures, paintings and other projects that mingle harmoniously in an area hailed as a National Monument.
For more information: